Becoming a Global Learner - Banner

APRU Becoming a Global Learner Leadership Series

Graphic for Becoming a Global Learner Series

 

In this free five-session learning series created by UC Davis in partnership with the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU), a cohort of undergraduate students will explore the concepts of culture, cultural values, identity, and power as well as engage in a deeper reflection on how they and others “make meaning”, evaluate intercultural situations, and deal with conflict. 

Throughout the synchronous virtual sessions, students will gain global skills and understanding that will help prepare them to be leaders in a global world. Sessions will be facilitated by UC Davis Global Affairs staff and they will be interactive, with discussions, activities, and reflections. Because participation will be limited to a small number of students (30-40) from across the APRU network, students will be able to make connections across the Asia-Pacific region and engage meaningfully with their peers. We welcome a range of majors and backgrounds as these global skills are important regardless of your future career path.

Applications for the winter 2023 cohort will open on October 24, 2022.

Please note: applications will be considered on a first-come, first-serve basis, although we will also ensure that there is a balance of participants from different APRU institutions. Additionally, if you are selected, you must commit to attending all five synchronous online sessions in the series.

Program Dates (participants must be available for all sessions):

  • Friday January 27, 2023, 5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. Davis, California
    • Friday, January 27, 2023, 10:00 p.m. – 11:30 p.m. Santiago de Chile
    • Saturday January 28, 2023, 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Beijing
    • Saturday January 28, 2023, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Tokyo
    • Saturday January 28, 2023, 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Sydney
  • Friday February 3, 2023, 5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. Davis, California
    • Friday, February 3, 2023, 10:00 p.m. – 11:30 p.m. Santiago de Chile
    • Saturday February 4, 2023, 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Beijing
    • Saturday February 4, 2023, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Tokyo
    • Saturday February 4, 2023, 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Sydney
  • Friday February 10, 2023, 5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. Davis, California
    • Friday, February 10, 2023, 10:00 p.m. – 11:30 p.m. Santiago de Chile
    • Saturday February 11, 2023, 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Beijing
    • Saturday February 11, 2023, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Tokyo
    • Saturday February 11, 2023, 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Sydney
  • Friday February 24, 2023, 5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. Davis, California
    • Friday, February 24, 2023, 10:00 p.m. – 11:30 p.m. Santiago de Chile
    • Saturday February 25, 2023, 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Beijing
    • Saturday February 25, 2023, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Tokyo
    • Saturday February 25, 2023, 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Sydney
  • Friday March 3, 2023, 5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. Davis, California
    • Friday, March 3, 2023, 10:00 p.m. – 11:30 p.m. Santiago de Chile
    • Saturday March 4, 2023, 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Beijing
    • Saturday March 4, 2023, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Tokyo
    • Saturday March 4, 2023, 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Sydney

Eligibility

  • Undergraduate student at an APRU-affiliated university (UC Davis is a member)
  • Available for all five session dates, listed above
  • Thoughtful completion of application form

Deadlines

  • Application deadline is November 21, 2022
  • Participants will be notified of their status by December 2, 2022

Contact Information